The Budget – Devon businesses, voice your disgust

The Budget – Devon businesses, voice your disgust

Yesterday’s Budget was yet another vicious attack from a Government that patently doesn’t understand about small business.  There’s no doubt about it, Westminster seems intent on hammering hard-working small businesses and the self-employed into the ground.  Pity we don’t have the same clout with Westminster as do internet giants such as Google, Amazon and suchlike.

Self employed people do not have the same access to state benefits as employees and therefore by trying to increase national insurance to the same level is going to be unfair.  Self employed people have more risk than employees, no sick pay, limited maternity benefits, no paid holidays and often the liability of employing staff.

What they’ve delivered recently:
Rates increases

Yesterday:
Increased National Insurance for the self-employed.
Reduced dividend withdrawal allowances.

It’s easy to make your voice heard – just contact your MP now and voice your disgust!

Central Devon – Mel Stride  –  bradshawb@parliament.uk
East Devon – Hugo Swire  –  hugo.swire.mp@parliament.uk
Exeter – Ben BradshawNewton Abbot – Anne Marie Morris  –  annemarie.morris.mp@parliament.uk
Plymouth – Johnny Mercer  –  johnny.mercer.mp@parliament.uk
Plymouth, Sutton and Devonport – Oliver Colvile  –  oliver.colvile.mp@parliament.uk
North Devon – Peter Heaton-Jones  –  peter.heatonjones.mp@parliament.uk
South West Devon – Gary Streeter  –  deans@parliament.uk
Tiverton and Honiton – Neil Parish  –  neil.parish.mp@parliament.uk
Torbay – Kevin Foster  –  kevin.foster.mp@parliament.uk
Torridge and West Devon – Geoffrey Cox  –  coxg@parliament.uk
Totnes – Dr Sarah Woolaston  –  sarah.wollaston.mp@parliament.uk

Next Post:
Previous Post:
This article was written by
Nigel Jones

Nigel has been publishing magazines since 1995 (some 20+ years now). Passionate about our countryside and heritage, the magazines reflect this interest. Nigel's the Editor of the DEVONSHIRE magazine which he established in 2009 and founder of the innovative HUBCAST event promotion platform which launched in 2011